Jul 22, 2021

Ghana, Accra

The Minister of Energy, Hon. Matthew Opoku Prempeh has inaugurated a nine-member Board for the Ghana National Gas Company Limited.

The new Board with a four-year mandate is chaired by Hon. Kennedy Ohene Agyapong,Member of Parliament for Assin Central.

At a brief ceremony at the Ministry of Energy’s conference room on Wednesday, July 21, 2021, Dr. Opoku Prempeh charged the new Board to tackle the operational challenges of the company earnestly.

He said the nomination and swearing-in of the Board signified the President’s trust in them and, therefore, they must justify the confidence.

“Your nomination is indicative of His Excellency President Akufo-Addo’s confidence in your individual and collective abilities to steer the affairs of one of the key state-owned companies in Ghana’s energy sector. You are by this appointment expected to provide direction and leadership in the day-to-day running of the nation’s premiere mid-stream gas business company,” he said.

Dr. Opoku Prempeh reiterated his approach of discouraging intra-energy sector debts where indebtedness was affecting the seamless operations of companies.

He, therefore, charged the Board to ensure that all debts owed to the company are paid regularly.

“I am aware that in the past one of the major challenges Ghana Gas has faced is VRA’s indebtedness to it; payments for the gas supplied to them in their operations were quite irregular. As you take over the helm of affairs, I urge you to be keen in ensuring that debts owed the company are paid regularly.”

He continued “As sector Minister, one of my priorities is to rid the sector of avoidable debts especially, ones I call intra-energy sector debts. This will ensure liquidity of companies in the carrying out of their operations as well as other financial obligations.”

On technical issues, the Minister charged the Board to be keen on quality assurance. This he says if sustained will be critical to the development of Ghana’s nascent gas industry.

He further asked the Board to be sensitive to the community needs of the project-affected areas. This he said will ensure peaceful co-existence between the company and host communities.

The Board Chairman, Hon. Kennedy Ohene Agyapong, in his acceptance remarks, pledged the readiness of the board to work to improve the fortunes of the company.

“We want to assure you that we are going to corporate with you and we are going to ensure that the right thing is done,” he said.

He also commended President Akufo-Addo for the trust reposed in the new Board.

The nine-member Board include Dr. Ben K.D Asante, Chief Executive Officer of the company, Mr. John Darko, and Mrs. Adelaide Mary Benneh, Awulae Amihere Kpanyinli, Abraham Osei Aidooh, Madam Delphine Dogbegah, Nana Owusu Ansah Ababio and Stephen Sumani Nayina.

Ghana Gas Communications Contacts
Ernest Owusu-Bempah Bonsu
Head of Communications
Gerard Kyei-Fobi
Corporate Communications
+233 (0)302 744 200

The Latest

© 2023 Ghana Gas Company Limited

Nothing in these materials is an offer to sell any of the products or items referenced herein.
References to "Ghana Gas"; may mean Ghana Gas limited, or subsidiaries or business units within the Ghana Gas corporate structure, as applicable.
Materials that are as of a specific date, including but not limited to press releases, presentations, blog posts and webcasts, may have been superseded by subsequent events or disclosures.
Ghana Gas limited includes Ghana Gas's licensing business. Ghana Gas limited, wholly-owned Ghanaian company, operates, along with its subsidiaries, substantially all of Ghana Gas's engineering, research and development functions, and substantially all of its products and services businesses. Ghana Gas products referenced on this page are products of Ghana Gas Technologies, Inc. and/or its subsidiaries.